PLAISTOW AND IFOLD PARISH COUNCIL



PLANNING WORKING GROUP TERMS OF REFERENCE

1. Introduction

- 1.1 The Planning Working Group ('the Working Group') is a Working Group of Plaistow and Ifold Parish Council's Planning & Open Spaces Committee ('the Committee').
- 1.2 The aim of the Working Group is to provide support to the Council and the Committee with complex planning applications, which require significant amounts of reading, analysis, meetings with instructed experts/consultants (instructed by resolution of either the Council or Committee) and in the preparation of recommendations and ideas on how to respond.
- 1.3 This Terms of Reference document must be read in conjunction with the <u>'Formation and Operation of Working Groups & their Terms of Reference Policy'</u> ('the Policy').

2. Membership

- 2.1 The membership of the Working Group shall be no more than ten (10), which must include no fewer than two (2) Councillors. The membership can include Co-Opted Members with no voting rights and members of the community with relevant expertise to support the aims of the Working Group ('Community Members').
- 2.2 The Chairman of the Council shall be an ex officio Working Group member.
- 2.3 The Working Group membership shall be appointed by resolution of the Committee, or Council.
- 2.4 The Committee or Council can invite Community Members to join the Working Group based on their known expertise, either in relation to planning or a complementary skill appropriate to the complex planning application under consideration. It can also appoint Community Members in accordance with paragraph 1.9 of the Policy.
- 2.5 The Committee or Council reserve the right not to appoint Community Members, identified in accordance with paragraph 1.9 of the Policy if they do not have either suitable knowledge of the planning system and planning policy, including the Local Development Plan and National Planning Policy Framework (NPPF) or a relevant skill / area of expertise appropriate to the complex planning application under consideration. This will be assessed by the Committee or Council prior to appointment.
- 2.6 Membership of the Working Group shall be reviewed either annually, at the Annual Council Meeting, or in relation to a specific complex planning matter being supported by the Working Group. When reviewing the Working Group membership, paragraphs 2.1 2.5 above shall be observed.

Date adopted: July 2023

Reviewed: July 2024

2.7 The Working Group Chair shall be chosen: -

2.7.1 annually by its members as the first item of business on the agenda at its first meeting, following the

Annual Council Meeting; or

2.7.2 following a membership review pursuant to paragraph 2.6 above.

2.8 The Chair can be a Councillor, Co-Opted Members with no voting rights or a Community Member. The Chair

will be the main point of contact for the Working Group and will convene meetings in conjunction with the

Clerk and Working Group membership. The Working Group must notify the Committee of its Chair pursuant

to paragraph 3.3 of the Policy.

2.9 If the Chair is unable to attend a meeting, then a substitute Chair will be appointed for that specific meeting

by the Working Group's members as the first item of business on the agenda.

2.10 On being appointed to the Working Group, all members must read, sign, and adhere to its Terms of

Reference.

3. Voting

3.1 Each member of the Working Group has one vote. In case of equality of votes, the Chair of the meeting has

the casting vote, whether they gave an original vote or not.

4. Meetings

4.1 The Working Group shall meet as frequently as required to support the Committee or Council in relation to

a specific complex planning application. The Working Group will be at liberty to determine the frequency of

its meetings subject to paragraph 2.8 above.

4.2 Working Group meetings are not required to be held in public.

4.3 Copies of the draft Working Group minutes shall be circulated to all Working Group members via email

within 10 working days of the meeting.

4.4 The minutes shall be agreed by a majority of members via email and signed by the Chair of the meeting in

accordance with Standing Order 12(g).

4.5 The agreed minutes shall be circulated to the Committee, or Council no later than the day of service of the

summons to attend the scheduled meeting. On this basis, they shall be taken as read in accordance with

Standing Order 12(a).

4.6 The Working Group minutes will be appended to the public minutes of the Committee or Council.

Date adopted: July 2023

Reviewed: July 2024

5. Quorum

- 5.1 The quorum shall be three (3) members of the Working Group provided at least one (1) of them is a Councillor.
- 5.2 If the number of members present falls below the required quorum, the meeting shall be adjourned, and business not transacted until the next meeting or on such other day as the Chair may fix.

6. Responsibilities

- 1.4 The key objectives of the Working Group will be to provide support to the Committee or Council with complex planning applications, which require significant amounts of reading, analysis, meetings with instructed experts/consultants (instructed by resolution of either the Committee or Council) and in the preparation of recommendations and ideas on how to respond. Upon instruction by the Committee or Council, the Working Group can prepare the response for approval by the Committee or Council.
- 6.1 The Working Group will utilise S.M.A.R.T principles when formulating its recommendations (Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Relevant and Timely).

7. Life of the Planning Working Group

- 7.1 The Working Group shall continue until
- 7.1.1 such time as its existence is deemed unnecessary by a resolution of the Committee or Council; or
- 7.1.2 such time as the Working Group members determine and make a recommendation to the Committee or Council for its dissolution by way of resolution.

8. Review

8.1 The Policy and these Terms of Reference shall be reviewed annually by the Council in May of each year.

9. Signatures

9.1 All members of the Working Group must sign this Terms of Reference document to confirm acceptance:

Cllr. Paul Jordan	Cllr. Sophie Capsey	Cllr. Andrew Woolf	Cllr. Sarah Denyer	Mrs Sara Burrell
Mr Dave Jordan	Mrs Ruth Childs	Mr. Andrew	Mr Jon Pearce	

Chamberlain

Date adopted: July 2023 Reviewed: July 2024